Brianda Robillard from Black Lake is one of this year’s scholarship recipients as well as a summer student in the 2021 program who currently works at Points Athabasca. She has a Business Administration diploma from Saskatchewan Polytechnic and will be studying accounting in the fall at the Edwards School of Business at the University of Saskatchewan.


September 26, 2022 in Giving Back
Explorer: Fall 2022

By Allison Strong

Supporting youth is a strong focus of our donations program. In addition to our annual Athabasca Student Dinner, support for community-led graduation activities, and our summer student program, we also provide funding each year for scholarships. In fact, there are over $100,000 in scholarships available exclusively for students from the Athabasca region! Providing these amazing opportunities is all possible due to the contributions from of our partners and the dedication from the scholarship committees.

Ya’thi Néné Land and Resource Office has offered scholarships for Athabasca students since 2017. Applications are due on July 31 each year. Qualifying students must be enrolled as full-time students and can be in any post-secondary program. $65,000 in scholarships were awarded in 2022 to recipients. Providing contributions are Cameco/ Orano, Ya’thi Néné, and Athabasca Basin Development, along with Flyer Electric supporting $5,000 towards the Denise Bougie scholarship for trades students. The Ya’thi Néné Scholarship Committee determined scholarship winners. Athabasca Basin Development is proud to support this initiative in the amount of $10,000 in 2022 and has been a sponsor for the past five years. Congratulations to this year’s recipients:

Shenelle EchodhKeesha MartinCherilyn Joseyounen
Jacqueline HaleJacqueline ValoisDarian Joseyounen (Gazandlare)
Cassidy RenieTerri-Anne RandhileNaomi Duff
Samantha AdamRyea DanielsHannah Preikschat
Raylen AdamShawna Sha.oulleVeronica Kkailther
Chales DettanibaAntonia Sha’oulleLoretta Randhile
Brianda RobillardLorine RandhileGabrielle Giroux
Pacey DisainTimothy Fern JrDarlene Sandypoint

Congratulations to this year’s Denise Bougie Trades Scholarship recipients:

Mitchell Throassie  Sammy Pacquette Jennita Pacquette (Hugarth)

QM Points made $42,000 in student scholarships available to students from the Athabasca region. This is the third year of the program. Congratulations to this year’s recipients:

Brianda RobillardKeesha MartinCherilyn Joseyounen
Darlene SandypointVanessa RenieTimothy Fern Jr.
Christen RenieCassidy RenieTerri-Anne Randhile
Darian GazandlareRaylen Adam